Noise Research

Noise Research

Noise Research is the alter-ego of UK Sound Artist / Musician Ian Simpson.

Noise Research has material released on the Electronic Musik (UK), Rift Recordings (UK), Classwar Karaoke (UK), Found in a Skip (UK), Earth Monkey Productions (UK), Itsu Jitsu (Scotland), A.M.P (S. America), aReW (UK), Rec72 (Germany), Clinical Archives (Russia), Kulturterrorismus (Germany), iFar (UK), MyHand Thanx (France), Unsigned (UK) and Bivouac (China) labels.

Releases currently available
• The Liftshaft EP (also known as Nuclear Liftshaft)
• Split with Barbarians (Electronic Musik)
• Noise Research I (Electronic Musik)
• Noise research II (Electronic Musik)
• Noise Research III (Bivouac)
• Rifts (2 tracks) on Rift recordings
• Noise Research Four (Earth Monkey Productions)
• Evoluon ( A.M.P.)
• Two Studies, split with Fonik (aReW)
• Classwar Karaoke Survey series (Classwar Karaoke)
• Ocean Epicure with Graham Dunning (on Clinical Archives)
• Forgotten Reel (very early recordings previously unreleased)
• Forgotten Reel II (second volume of early recordings)
• Music for Electronic Tape (Electronic Musik)
• Consisted Construction (Electronic Musik)
• Radio Electronics (Electronic Musik)
• Shelter Itch (A.M.P.)
• Necktar 2017 Vol. 3 (Necktar)
• smallRadio – Leaf Shaped Remixes (Rec72)
• iFar Compilation One (Ifar)
• Galaxy Being – with Gnod (Electronic Musik)
• Soundscapes for the Abandoned (Kulturterrorimus KT Net 006)
• Third Function Surrender – with Kurt Signs (Electronic Musik)
• Air and Water (split with Sean Derrick Cooper Marquardt on EM)
• Royal Wedding Cash In EP (split with Clutter on EM)
• Radio Collage #1 EP (Electronic Musik)
• Unified Theory – with Richard Knight (aReW Recordings)
• Unified Practice – with Richard Knight (aReW Recordings)
• A Proof of Fermat (Itsu Jitsu)
• Found Compilation (Found in a Skip)
• Experimental Noise Compilation 2 (Unsigned)
• Space Stones (Electronic Musik)
• A Sixth Compilation (Electronic Musik)
• Visual – with Jeremy Gluck & Dave Fuglewicz (MyHand Thanx)
• Heavy Tactical Collision – with Anton Mobin (Electronic Musik)
• Collision II – with Anton Mobin (Electronic Musik)
• A Darkness at Noon EP (Electronic Musik)
• Burning – with Clutter (Electronic Musik)

Ian has been involved in the experimental / improvised music scene for many years and has performed with / alongside (amongst others)

• Evan Parker
• Graham Dunning
• Acid Mothers Temple
• Sun Ra Arkestra
• Eddie Prevost
• Faust
• Bark!
• Pram
• John Russell
• Paul Rutherford
• Telescopes
• The A band
• Mark Wastell
• Rhodri Davis
• Keith Rowe
• Colin Potter
• Pascal Nichols
• Janek Schaefer
• Alexander Von Schlippenbach
• Mick Beck
• Phil Marks
• Lol Coxhill

He has adopted an uncompromising approach in both playing and performance which has led to his involvement as a performer with ‘The Frakture Big Band’ (Liverpool), Noise Club (Liverpool), Janx: The Gathering (Wirral), ‘Gnod’ (Manchester) Aht-N (Cumbria) & ‘Fonik’ (Warrington). He also actively organises and promotes performances in UK including the Pyramid Experimental Music Festival and Manchester based Electronic Organica Nights. One of his most recent projects is a collaboration with sound artist Graham Dunning, the results of which have been released by Clinical Archives in January 2010. Ian has just finished the soundtrack to a short film, A Movement Towards (2010) by London based film-maker David Sant. Ian has also recently recorded with Herve Perez and Richard Knight.

A comment about Noise Research Four

Such an outstanding album it really is a class piece of work – Jeff Grainger (Dandelion Radio, 2008).

One about Rifts
A soundtrack to while away the time to as Western civilisation inevitably continues its steadily increasing rate of decay (Heathen Harvest, 2009)

One about Noise Research
The closest I’ve come to musical conversation for a long while – Andrew Hodges (Chaparral, 2010)

And another
A brilliant electro-acoustic improviser who can be seen in many incarnations around the North of England. He also finds time to run the amazing net label Electronic Musik and the Electronic Organica experimental music nights in Manchester (Cumbria Remixed, 2011)

And another
The echoes of deep space emulated in the trans-dimensional winding of strings and quarks (WTF Music, 2010)

And another
Captivating mixture of deep drones slowly changing ambiences, music concrete and well placed noise parts (Kulturterrorimus, 2011)

And yet another
Tripped out to that remix yesterday during a long car drive – so many textures – love it! (Radio Scotvoid, 2011)

and not forgetting
wound close to breaking point, every track loaded with the energy and tension of the urban landscape (Itsu Jitsu, 2011)


Download Ocean Epicure

4 Responses to “Noise Research”

  1. […] scratched cd’s, chant generators, dictaphones, and chimera boxes. More info can be found here This entry was posted in collaborations, sound piece. Bookmark the permalink. ← […]

  2. […] and recorded by richard knight and noise research This release is also available for free mp3 download at […]

  3. […] live recording from October 2011, of noise, improv and drone. Along side this are two remixes from Noise Research and Guy […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: